Gilgit-Baltistan (Urdu: گلگت بلتستان‎), formerly known as the Northern Areas, is the northernmost administrative territory of Pakistan.

It borders Azad Kashmir to the south, the province of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa to the west, the Wakhan Corridor of Afghanistan to the north, the Xinjiang region of China, to the east and northeast, and the Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir to the southeast. Gilgit-Baltistan is part of the region that is disputed by India and Pakistan, along with Azad Kashmir, Aksai Chin, the Shakshagam Valley, and Jammu, Ladakh, and the Valley of Kashmir.